Glenaroua Soldiers Remembered

from the home page...
The Broadford RSL became involved in this project following a Remembrance Day 2014 presentation by local historian Mr Tim Whitford about the significance of the Cypress Pine Grove. The memorial sign was produced and installed by Carolynne Blackwell and her brother Ron Burgess and features on the reverse some 51 names of those locals who volunteered for service.  

The memorial was unveiled by Broadford RSL President Peter Branagan and Federal Member for McEwen Rob Mitchell and dedicated by Puckapunyal School of Armour’s Chaplain – Padre Michael O’Brien. Over 120 people with a strong local representation attended the ceremony and enjoyed a sumptuous morning tea provided by RSL members Mandy and Chris Fing in the fire station bar-b-que area following the service.

The Shire of Mitchell was represented by Cr Bill Melbourne who laid a wreath on behalf of the Shire as did Rob Mitchell for McEwen, Brenda Johnson for the RSL and Deb Cerda for the local CFA. Several local residents including Bruce McLean also honoured their forebears with floral tributes.

Image 4171 Broadford RSL President Peter Branagan unveiled the memorial with Rob Mitchell, MP, Federal Member for McEwen.

 Part of the large crowd in attendance at Glenaroua.

President Peter Branagan and Immediate Past President Paddy Devine pictured during the two minutes silence.

Paddy Devine with Ian and Denise Smith savouring a brew.

 The following Victorian members attended:
 Peter Branagan, Peter Coutts, Paddy Devine, Ian Smith, John Blackwell, Chris Fing, John Baines, Gordon Hastie and Andrew Abbott.


Peter Swinfield, Peter Coutts and John Blackwell after the event.